King’s Hall forms a gracious central hub in Old Parliament House and features a tall coffered ceiling, clerestory windows, white plaster walls with intricate mouldings, colonnades, decorative skylights and a highly polished parquet floor.
A grand entrance can be expected by utilising the building’s iconic front steps. Direct access from King George Terrace is via the main Museum door and up a set of timber steps. An easy access lift is also available, as our easy access toilets at level.
- 1 of 5
- 2 of 5
- 3 of 5
- 4 of 5
- 5 of 5
From our past guests:
"Well, what did the attendees think? After the photos went up, our Facebook page had 2373 post reaches by Friday, 3332 by Saturday and 4783 by Sunday with well over 1000 actual 'hits'. All positives everywhere, thank you!"
– Duke of Edinburgh Awards, 2016
History of King’s Hall
The bronze statue of King George V in the regalia of the Order of the Garter has been a central feature of the hall since the opening of the building in 1927. Open to the public from the earliest days and situated between the House of Representatives and Senate Chambers, it was a busy crossroads. During parliamentary sittings King’s Hall was a hive of activity swarming with members and senators, officers, journalists, secretaries, public servants, lobbyists and tourists.
The first dinner ever held in King’s Hall only took place in 2014, and serious precautions need to be taken while the venue is used in that format, given the importance of the space. However, cocktails and other types of events are held quite frequently.